Brain Food Story

logoThe lecture series is an integral part of history of Dillard University. Our first official president, William Stuart Nelson launched what he called the aesthetic spirit of Dillard in the late 1930s designed to build a closer relationship between the students and the community, and elevating awareness of the university throughout the nation.


He was followed by Albert Dent who organized the Edwin R. Embree Memorial Lecture Series in the 1950s to help students achieve a high sense of personal and social values in their thinking and learning. Guests included Eleanor Roosevelt, Thurgood Marshall, Mary McLeod Bethune, Martin Luther King Jr., and Jackie Robinson. Broadus Butler followed Dent, and established the Scholars-Statesmen Lecture Series in the late 1960s to bring to students and the community distinguished people who modeled excellence to which students aspired and the community respected.





placeholder image

Issa Rae 

Creator of HBO’s Insecure Wednesday, September 6 @ 7pm Georges Auditorium

placeholder image

Malcolm Nance 

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 @ 7pm Georges Auditorium

placeholder image

The Dayton Contemporary Dance Company

October 11, Samuel DuBois Cook Theatre


Issa Rae

Learn more about Issa Rae

Issa Rae is best known as the star and co-creator of HBO's, INSECURE, a Golden Globe nominated television series. Coming off her second straight year on the Forbes Magazine’s 30 Under 30 List, she was named by The Rolling Stone as “one of the 23 funniest people in America.”

Dillard University

2601 Gentilly Boulevard
New Orleans, Louisiana 70122

Dillard University Seal