Dillard University Logo

Spacer Spacer Spacer  
Marvalene Hughes and Steven Joel Trachtenberg Receive 2010 ACE Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor's Award PDF Print E-mail
Click here to change font size:

aceMarvalene Hughes, president of Dillard University (LA), and Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, president emeritus of The George Washington University (DC), were presented with the 2010 Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor’s Award* during the 92nd Annual Meeting of the American Council on Education (ACE), held at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel in Phoenix.

The Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor’s Award is presented annually to acknowledge the enormous role of mentors in the success of ACE Fellows Program participants. Established in 1965, the ACE Fellows Program is designed to strengthen institutions and leadership in American higher education by identifying and preparing faculty and staff members for senior positions in college and university administration. More than 1,600 higher education leaders have participated in the ACE Fellows Program since its inception, with more than 300 Fellows having served as chief executive officers of colleges or universities and more than 1,300 having served as provosts, vice presidents and deans.

“Mentors are at the heart of the individualized and experiential learning process that makes the Fellows Program unique. We are deeply indebted to Presidents Hughes and Trachtenberg and to the thousands of presidents and senior officers of colleges and universities who have served as mentors and nominators for Fellows,” said Sharon A. McDade, director, ACE Fellows Program.

Fidelity Investments’ generous support of the Fellows Program has enabled the Council of Fellows to provide support for the discretionary fund of the Mentor’s Award winner’s institution, as well as the Fellows Fund for the Future, which provides stipends to those institutions which are unable to afford the cost of sponsoring a Fellow.

"Fidelity is proud to support the ACE Fellows Program,” said John Ragnoni, executive vice president, Fidelity Investments. “We congratulate this year’s Mentor’s Award recipients and salute their commitment to mentoring and developing future leaders in higher education.”

Both Hughes and Trachtenberg were recognized for their service as exceptional role models to emerging leaders, having each mentored four ACE Fellows. In addition, Trachtenberg has nominated four emerging leaders to participate in the Fellows Program. Both have served the Fellows Program in many other ways, such as presenting to Fellows and participating in the selection process for new class members.

Marvalene Hughes is the 8th president of Dillard University and the first woman to hold that position. From 1994-2005, she was the president of California State University, Stanislaus.

She has been an active leader in major national organizations, including the Association of American State Colleges and Universities, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, the American College Personnel Association, and the National Association of Counseling Center Directors.

In 2005, Hughes was selected as one of the “Top 10 Black Women in Higher Education in America” by Black Voices and she was recently named New Orleans’ “Woman of the Year” by New Orleans CityBusiness, a testament to Dillard’s recovery from Hurricane Katrina. She holds a Ph.D. in counseling and administration from Florida State University, and bachelor and master of science degrees from Tuskegee University (AL).

Trachtenberg was the 15th president of The George Washington University and currently holds the title of president emeritus and university professor of public service. He began his career in higher education at Boston University and later became president at the University of Hartford.

He is the author of numerous books, including The Art of Hiring in America's Colleges & Universities, Thinking Out Loud, Reflections on Higher Education, Speaking His Mind, and Big Man on Campus.

Trachtenberg earned a bachelor of arts degree from Columbia University (NY), a juris doctor from Yale University (CT), and a master of public administration degree from Harvard University (MA). In addition, he holds 16 honorary doctoral degrees.

To be eligible for the Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor’s Award, a nominee must have been a president or chancellor of an ACE member institution and have mentored four or more ACE Fellows. Selection is based on a range of factors, including a commitment to leadership development with evidence that the nominee worked to enhance the diversity and capacity of higher education leaders through mentoring.

Robert Hemenway, then chancellor of the University of Kansas, received the 2009 Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor’s Award, now in its sixth year. 

Previous Recipients of the Council of Fellows Mentor’s Award:

2008: Robert Glidden, president emeritus, The Ohio University

2007: Carol Cartwright, president emeritus, Kent State University (OH)

2006: Jerry Sue Thornton, president, Cuyahoga Community College (OH)

2005: Robert Carothers, president, University of Rhode Island, and David Roselle, then president, University of Delaware

*The American Council on Education (ACE) and Fidelity Investments ® are independent entities and are not legally affiliated. The recipients of the Council of Fellows/Fidelity Investments Mentor’s Award are selected solely by the Executive Committee of the Council of Fellows. Fidelity employees are not involved, in any way, in determining, selecting or approving the recipient or amount of any award. The selection criteria and guidelines for the award may be obtained directly from ACE.


spacer spacer spacer  


Donate to Dillard University


Dillard University
2601 Gentilly Boulevard
New Orleans, Louisiana 70122
Phone: 504.283.8822


© Copyright 2008.
All rights reserved.