Campus News

Delta Sigma Theta Grants Dillard University With Its $200K Distinguished Professor Endowed Chair Award

Delta Sigma Theta Grants Dillard University With Its  $200K Distinguished Professor Endowed Chair Award

 Author: Lauren R.D. Fox 


Dillard University was awarded the 2019-2021 Delta Sigma Theta Distinguished Professor Endowed Chair Award. Every two years, Delta gives this grant to a historically black college or university (HBCU) in order to support a professor to be in residence to teach or conduct research. The grant is worth $200,000 and the funds will be used to conduct research on childhood obesity in African-American communities. 


Dillard Biology professor Dr. Ruby Broadway is the honoree for this award and will lead the research endeavor at the University. Dr. Broadway has served the University for over 34 years as an exemplary leader, researcher, and mentor. She is a talented and highly accomplished African-American scholar who has dedicated her career to improving minority student access to careers within the science and engineering fields. Visiting Harvard professor Dr. Shantel Herbert- Magee will assist Dr. Broadway and Dillard’s Biology department with this research endeavor as Co-PI (principal investigator). 


The CDC reports that childhood obesity is defined, “as a BMI at or above the 95th percentile for children and teens of the same age and sex. BMI is calculated by dividing a person’s weight in kilograms by the square of height in meters. For children and teens, BMI is age- and sex-specific and is often referred to as BMI-for-age."


The Distinguished Professor Endowed Chair Award was established in 1977 at the sorority’s 34th National Convention as a perpetual trust fund to continue the group’s longstanding commitment to educational excellence through quality instruction at HBCUs.  The award was established to support and sustain these historical institutions, provide assistance to expand educational opportunities, and to give long-overdue recognition to distinguished black instructors and professors. The criteria for the Distinguished Professor award goes as follows: male or female professors who have excelled in academia and who are renowned through their lectures, research, and published work. The prospective Distinguished Professor should also represent an industry in which African Americans have been underrepresented and/or a non-traditional field in which women have been underrepresented and/or an altogether new field of scholarship. 


The award was presented at Delta Sigma Theta’s 54th National Convention in New Orleans, Louisiana, on July 10, 2019. Dr. Walter M. Kimbrough, Dillard University President, accepted the award on the University’s behalf during the sorority’s public meeting.


As the University celebrates its 150th Founding Anniversary, it remains a premier private undergraduate university in the region and in the world of Historically Black Colleges and Universities. The designation of physics and film as signature programs adds to that tradition of excellence. True to its motto Ex Fide Fortis, meaning "strength from faith," Dillard is stronger than ever and is positioned for success throughout the 21st century and beyond.

Psychology senior's research published in journal

Students earn training in reproductive justice advocacy

Community and Church Relations makes PPE donations

SACSCOC reaffirms Dillard's accreditation

Dillard Theatre alumni present Regina Taylor's "VOTE!"

James Beard Foundation appoints Zella Palmer to its leadership committee

Dr. Michael Lomax honored with endowed scholarship

Dillard signs MOU with Nicholls State for MBA program

Dillard welcomes new police chief, Angela Honora

Kimbrough, '20 CityBusiness Women of the Year honoree

Esmail and Kellum named to endowed professorships

Baker '21 and Webber '23 win Coca-Cola internships

Center for Racial Justice to debut class on police brutality

Dixon awarded Mellon Periclean Faculty Leader Grant

Dillard to host Center for Coding and Creativity

Dillard one of the "50 Most Beautiful College Campuses"

Fall 2020 Reconnect Plan

Kullman Firm to award $10K law school scholarship

Alumna Johnson-Eanes appointed president of CUNY-York College

Senior Smith selected HBCU Competitiveness Scholar

Dillard to launch Center for Racial Justice

DU alumni featured in #20for20Grads campaign

Dillard places first in National HBCU Stock Market Challenge

Fos, Kellum, LSU Health Sciences professor collaborate for journal article about diabetes and COVID

2020 Melton Foundation Fellows announced

Dillard to host free COVID-19 testing in Gentilly

Divine Nine author, speaker lends Dillard a helping hand

Dillard receives Mellon Foundation funding

List of 2020 graduates

New Roads native Bria Jones 2020 valedictorian

Chicago native Dazjah Samuels 2020 salutatorian

Alumnus Jericho Brown wins 2020 Pulitzer Prize

Hébert, Lesen, Fos named to COVID-19 Health Equity Task Force

Business, nursing endowed professors named

President Kimbrough: "We are a resilient community in a resilient city."

Rev. Herbert Brisbon, III named chaplain

Three earn full law school scholarships


2601 Gentilly Boulevard
New Orleans, Louisiana 70122

Dillard University Seal