Font Smaller Font Bigger Font Normal Font Size

Louis Stokes Louisiana Alliance for Minority Participation (LS-LAMP)

The Louis Stokes Louisiana Alliance for Minority Participation (LS-LAMP) is one of 34 National Science Foundation Alliance Programs nationwide. This comprehensive, statewide coordinated program is aimed at substantially increasing the number and quality of minority students receiving baccalaureate degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and, subsequently, increasing the number of minority students entering graduate schools to earn doctoral degrees in STEM fields. The basic, statewide strategy is the replication and enhancement of exemplary mentoring and outreach programs.


Program Administrators

Dr. Abdalla Darwish, Ph.D.
Program Director and Campus Coordinator

Stephanie Jones
Program Assistant


Program Benefits

$1000.00 Annual Stipend
Presentation of Research
Structural Systematic Mentoring
Undergraduate Research Experience
Academic Tutoring
Summer Fellowships
Summer Internship Placement
Career Planning/Graduate Guidance
GRE Preparation


Click Here to View the LAMP Brochure and Application


Contact Us

LAMP Program
Dillard University
School of STEM
Department of Physics
Stern Hall 307B
2601 Gentilly Blvd.
New Orleans, LA 70122
(504) 816-4877 office
(504) 816-4876 fax



Student Research Winners in Nationwide, Regional and Dillard Campus for 2011-2012


1. DU-LAMP Conference 2011

Charne Thomas

Breanna Ryan

Joshua Daye

Donique Thorpe - 1st Place


2. DU-Undergraduate Research 2011

Breanna Ryan

Joshua Daye - 1st Place

Charne Thomas - 2nd Place

Jasmine Scott


3. Annual Biomedical Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) 2011

Charne Thomas - Travel Award Winner

Breanna Ryan - FASEB MARC - Travel Award Winner


4. STEM Annual 2012 Conference Research Competition Winners



1st Place - Curvelle Lewis

2nd Place - Arielle Calloway

3rd Place - Sonte Walton



1st Place - Donique Thorpe

2nd Place - Nichole Lathan

3rd Place - Courtney Hill



1st Place - Michael Sagapolutele

2nd Place - Rudy Garza

3rd Place - Breanna Ryan



1st Place - Christian Ramson

2nd Place - Joy Semien

3rd Place - Terrence Jones


5. WGE@MSA/WAESO Conference 2012

Charne Thomas - 1st Place

Curvelle Lewis - 2nd Place

Joshua Daye - 3rd Place


6. DU-Undergraduate Research and Creative Works 2012

Breanna Ryan - 1st Place

Paula Ogbovoen - 2nd Place

Donique Thorpe - 3rd Place


7. Emerging Researchers National (ERN) Conference 2012

Simeon Wilson - 2nd Place Winner in Physics Nanoscience & Material Science




2601 Gentilly Boulevard
New Orleans, Louisiana 70122

Dillard University Seal